Advisory Board


The Maryland Safe to Learn Act of 2018 (Senate Bill 1265) was signed into law by Governor Hogan on April 10, 2018, and it significantly altered and expanded the role of the Maryland Center for School Safety. The legislation established the School Safety Subcabinet, and School Safety Advisory Board. The Subcabinet serves as the regulatory authority and as the governing board of the Center, and its members are identified in statute. The Advisory Board serves as counsel to the Subcabinet.​


The Advisory Board serves as counsel to the Subcabinet and is chaired by Dr. Michael Martirano, Superintendent, of Howard County Public Schools. The Governor selects the Chair from the current Advisory Board membership. The Advisory Board represents a number of agencies and stakeholder groups, and they are as follows:

  • Dr. Michael Martirano, Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland​​​
  • ​Katherine Klausmeier, Maryland State Senate​​​​​
  • Eric Ebersole, Maryland House of Delegates​
  • Karin Bailey, Maryland Association of Boards of Education
  • Dr. Kellie Anderson, School Psychologist​
  • Pamela Gaddy, Maryland State Education Association​
  • James T. Bell, Parent of a Public School Student
  • Rafael Lopez, Secretary, Department of Human Services
  • Vincent Schiraldi​, Secretary, Department of ​Juvenile Service
  • Sheriff Matthew Crisafulli, Maryland Sheriffs’ Association
  • Chief Paul Kifer, Maryland Chiefs​ of Police Association
  • Laurel Moody, Maryland Institute for Em​ergency Medical Services Systems
  • David Engel, Maryland Coordination and Analysis Center
  • Claire Cabral, Maryland Association of Student Councils
  • Dr. Sharon A. Hoover, Center for School Mental Health
  • Megan Berger, Disability Rights Maryland​
  • Joseph Cormier​, Parent of a Child with Disabilities
  • Thomas E. Alban, Representative of a Non-Public School​
  • Lee-Nadine Oppenheim, Non-Public Special Education Facility
  • Detective Lawrence E. Smith, Balt. City School Police, MD Association of SROs
  • ​​​Michael Brown, Representative of School Principals
  • Dr. Tia McKinnon, Special Education Representative
  • Leigh Thurmond Weihs, MPH, CRNP Maryland Association of School-Based Health​
  • Vacant,​ Representative of School Bus Drivers​

Student Focus Group

The Maryland Center for School Safety (MCSS) Student Focus Group representatives work closely with the advisory board, providing feedback and recommendations regarding school safety issues. To learn more about the Student Focus Group, please visit the Student Voice Page​.


Advisory Board Agenda and Minutes

Meeting Documents from Agenda 2024

Meeting Date
Meeting Transcript *​​
Documents and Archived Video
February 5​

​March 4​​​

​June 3

Meeting Documents from Agenda 2023​

​ Meeting Date
​ Agenda 
Meeting Transcript *
​ Documents and Archived Video
February 6​

March 6​​​
March - Agenda
March - Meeting Transcript
March - Archived Video 
​April 3​

​May 1​
​​May - Agenda
May - Meeting Transcript
May - Archived Video
​June 5
June - Agenda

June - Archived Video
​October 2​

​December 4​​

Meeting Documents from Agenda​ 2022

​Meeting Date
​Documents and Archived Video
No Meeting
​February 7
​​Feb​ - Agenda​
Feb - Archived Video
​March 7
​April 4
Apr - Agenda
April - Archived Video
​May 11​
May - Agenda
 May - Archived Video
​No Meeting​​
No Meeting
No Meeting
No Meeting
October 3
​November 7
​​Nov-Archived Video
​December 5
A member of the public is invited to attend and observe any open meeting session but may not participate in the session unless the meeting agenda specifically includes a section for public testimony or comment.​
Please be advised that some Advisory Board minutes and footage may move into a closed session, if needed, pursuant to Maryland Code, § 3- 305 of the General Provisions Article.​​


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information